Welcome! I am delighted you are visiting our website, and I look forward to seeing you in our galleries at The Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art.

The museum’s history is rich and the collection is deep, so I urge you to visit often. You will discover true originals, mankind’s greatest achievements, from ancient to contemporary works of art. You will also feel the power of community, as we celebrate diverse cultures and mark important days with festivals, dancing, talks, tours and classes.

Discover the museum at your own pace, by yourself or with family and friends. Make it your museum!
Julián Zugazagoitia


Where the power of art engages the spirit of community

We welcome and provide free admission to all, and deliver unparalleled opportunities to enjoy, appreciate and understand the finest visual arts and the varied cultures they represent—on our campus, online, and throughout Kansas City.

As an institution of national and international renown, we establish and adhere to the highest professional standards and practices in research, scholarship, presentation, interpretation and care of our collections.

We serve as a vital partner in the educational, social and cultural life of our community, using our collections and programs to build an environment where people can gather, share and contemplate the greatest creations of humankind.

Every day, in all we do, the Nelson-Atkins is committed to nurturing excellence, inspiring creativity and building community through the power of art.


The Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art arose from the instincts and ambitions of two private individuals who shared the dream of providing a public art museum for Kansas City and the surrounding region.

William Rockhill Nelson, founder of The Kansas City Star, was convinced that for a city to be truly civilized, art and culture were necessities.

When he died in 1915, the bulk of his estate was used to establish the William Rockhill Nelson Trust for the purchase of works of art “which will contribute to the delectation and enjoyment of the public generally.”

The Nelson estate was combined with Mary Atkins’ legacy to build an art museum for the people of Kansas City. The William Rockhill Nelson Gallery of Art and the Mary Atkins Museum of Fine Arts opened to the public on Dec. 11, 1933.

On June 9, 2007, the Nelson-Atkins unveiled the Bloch Building, an addition designed by Steven Holl Architects, which increased gallery and storage space for the growing collection.

Today, the Nelson-Atkins maintains collections of more than 35,000 works of art and welcomes 500,000 visitors a year.

Trustees and staff

Board of Trustees
Shirley Bush Helzberg, Chair
Richard C. Green, Jr., Chair-Elect
Paul DeBruce, Treasurer
Neil D. Karbank, Secretary

Mary Atterbury
Kenneth Baum
Robert Bernstein
Evelyn Craft Belger
Grant Burcham
Bill Gautreaux
Don Hall, Jr.
Sandra A.J. Lawrence
Bill Lyons
Greg Maday
Susan McGreevy
Sara S. Morgan
Ramón Murguía
Charles Sosland
Kent Sunderland
William B. Taylor
Elizabeth Bloch Uhlmann
Maurice Watson

Henry W. Bloch, Chair Emeritus
Donald J. Hall, Chair Emeritus
Sarah F. Rowland, Chair Emerita
Estelle Sosland, Chair Emerita

Honorary Trustees
Menefee D. Blackwell*
Thornton Cooke II
Charles A. Duboc*
Laura Kemper Fields*
Cliff C. Jones, Jr.*
Herbert Jones*
Alan R. Marsh
Fred L. Merrill*
Harry C. McCray, Jr.*
Milton McGreevy*
J.C. Nichols*
James P. Sunderland*
Herman R. Sutherland*
William Volker*
Adelaide Cobb Ward

* Deceased

Museum Leadership
Julián Zugazagoitia
Menefee D. and Mary Louise Blackwell Director & CEO

Karen Christiansen
Chief Operating Officer

Doug Allen
Chief Information Officer

Tammy Bluhm
Director, Finance

Casey Claps
Manager, Strategic Initiatives

Catherine Futter, Ph.D.
Director, Curatorial Affairs

Mark Litzler
Director, Advancement

Anne Manning
Director, Education and Interpretive Programs

Kelly Summers
Director, Human Resources

Steven Waterman
Director, Design & Experience

Toni Wood
Director, Marketing & Communications

Mark Zimmerman
Director, Administration

Curatorial Staff

Catherine Futter, Ph.D.
Director, Curatorial Affairs

Jane Aspinwall
Associate Curator, Photography

Robert Cohon, Ph.D.
Curator, Art of the Ancient World

Keith Davis
Senior Curator, Photography

Stefanie Kae Dlugosz-Acton
Assistant Curator, Architecture, Design and Decorative Arts

Leesa Fanning, Ph.D.
Curator, Contemporary Art

Rima Girnius, Ph.D
Associate Curator, European Painting & Sculpture

Stephanie Knappe, Ph.D.
Samuel Sosland Curator, American Art

Ling-en Lu, Ph.D.
Associate Curator, Chinese Art

Colin Mackenzie, Ph.D.
Senior Curator, East Asian Art

MacKenzie Mallon
Specialist, Provenance


Aimee Marcereau DeGalan, Ph.D
Louis L. and Adelaide C. Ward Senior Curator, European Arts

Kimberly Masteller
Jeanne McCray Beals Curator of South and Southeast Asian Art

Jan Schall, Ph.D.
Sanders Sosland Curator of Modern Art

Gaylord Torrence
Fred and Virginia Merrill Senior Curator of American Indian Art

April Watson, Ph.D.
Curator, Photography

Read Curator Bios