Electromediascope 2003

January 1, 2003—December 31, 2003

Electromediascope is a survey of contemporary international work in experimental film, video, new media and performance art.

Winter 2003
Replay: Selected Works 1993–2003

In celebration of the 10th anniversary of Electromediascope, a variety of representative films and videos from the past decade of programming were screened. Artists selected for this special look-back program were Ida Applebroog, Martin Arnold, Beth B, Lothar Baumgarten, Jem Cohen, Cheryl Donegan, Ken Jacobs, Isaac Julien, Kristin Lucas, Guy Maddin, Éder Santos and Leslie Thornton.

Host, Kristin Lucas (American), 1997, 7:36 min, video

Spring 2003
Welcome to the InterZone

Because of the Internet, we are viewers becoming users who interact with and make a difference within computer-based experiences and worlds. The artists in Welcome to the InterZone––Sara Diamond, Andrea Flamini, Auriea Harvey, Bill Morrison, Michaël Samyn, and Bill Seaman––create in this territory of new media, including web-based interactive and collaborative projects.

Codezebra––Only the Strong Survive, Sara Diamond (Canada/USA), 2000–2003, interactive website

Fall 2003
Material & Illusion

The works in Material & Illusion employ aesthetic and conceptual strategies to explore the intersection of reality, myth and illusion. This important season featured a Stan Brakhage retrospective; an appearance by filmmaker Ernie Gehr at the screening of three of his works; and an evening of works by Seoungho Cho, Pierre Huyghe, William Kentridge and Leslie Thornton.

Shift, Ernie Gehr (American), 1972–74, 9 min., 16 mm film

Where the power of art engages the spirit of community
© 2015 The Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art
4525 Oak Street, Kansas City, MO 64111 | 816.751.1278 | Contact Us